web analytics

About Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga uses a systematic approach to the sequencing of asanas (the yoga postures).

This approach was developed by B.K.S. Iyengar (1918 – 2014).His daughter Geeta and son Prashant still teach in Pune, India along with his grandchildren and other senior Iyengar Instructors.The system is methodical and progressive differing from other styles in it’s precision to physical alignment. This is achieved by the use of props, where necessary, to aid the body in achieving the correct alignment.

Qualified Iyengar Yoga Teacher

Iyengar yoga has exceptionally high teaching standards.

Prior to being accepted on an Iyengar teacher training course, 3 years practice under an Iyengar teacher must be completed and a preliminary exam passed.

Students will then embark on a 2 years training course (120 hours) and pass exams at Level 1 and Level 2. Only when both exams are passed will a teacher be classed as a qualified Iyengar Yoga Instructor at Introductory Level. This enables them to teach postures on the introductory syllabus only.
Teachers can embark on further training and study to work up to Intermediate Junior level and then Senior level.


For a list of Iyengar classes run by Little Greene Yoga in the Southside of Glasgow, West of Scotland see timetable